Compose has your back(ups)

What if you deleted a deployment by mistake, or you wished you had access to a deployment's data that you deleted weeks or months ago? Compose has a solution to your problem and it doesn't involve sending a message to support.

Compose database deployments are easy to deploy and easy to delete when you don't need them anymore. We like this because it encourages people remove unnecessary clutter by bringing up a database for as long as they need it, even if it's for a short time to chew over some dataset.

There are times though when you delete a database and then find, for whatever reason, that you need the data from that database. The good news is that Compose retains backups even after a deployment has been deleted. But until now you've needed to open a support ticket to get them recovered.

Now, you can help yourself from the comfort of the Compose Console. The introduction of the Recently Deleted Deployments view - you'll find it underneath the main Deployments view - gives you the chance to bring that data back from deleted databases. Let's show you how it can work for you.

Recently Deleted Deployments

To get to the Recently Deleted Deployments view, log into your Compose account and, if you are like us, scroll past your deployed databases till you reach the new section:

As the name suggests, the view lists all your recently deleted Compose deployments. By "recent" we mean for the past 3 months. If for any reason you need deployments that are older than that, we've got your back on those too, but you'll have to contact support.

The deployments are listed according to the most recently deleted. You can see this by looking at the time the deployment was deleted which is next to the deleted deployment's name. The time can be changed into three different formats (weeks, local time, or UTC) by clicking on it as shown in the following:

To download or restore the data from a deployment, select the download/restore link on the right of the row. This will take you to the Backups view; an example is shown below. It lists all of the backups from newest to oldest, which were created while your deployment was active:

For Compose PostgreSQL, RabbitMQ, Redis, and MongoDB you have the option to restore a backup as a new deployment or download it. Other deployments like Compose RethinkDB and etcd only allow you to download backups, while Compose Elasticsearch only allows you to restore your deployment.

To download a backup, click on the green icon shown below, which will automatically start downloading to your default download location:

If you have the option to restore a deployment, just select the circle icon:

This will take you to a view like the one below to create a new deployment from the backup that was chosen. Just like setting up a new deployment, there is the option to rename and select a host location of your choice.

By giving you access your deleted deployments when you want and where you want, we know you'll rest easy knowing that Compose always has your back(ups).

Image by Turmfalke